A R Murgadoss’s Sarkar – 2018 ‧ Drama/Mystery ‧ 2h 44m

At the outset, I want to make it clear that “this article” is nothing to do with my inclination towards ARM or team.
In the life of a man like Sundar, there are bound to be so many incidents which will give rise to new complex situations. So for want of a better word I would like to describe this story – Sarkar as a new phase in Sundar’s professional graph which started with 1st plot point where his EGO is burnt in front of national media.

I’ll always be transfixed by the concept of EGO. Ego for me is POWER, which runs the world. Here, the film is showcasing SUNDAR’s power when there was an unmediated blitz on his EGO. The story (yes! I believe there’s a story in this film unlike many think) deals with ego, which I think is used in special “salutary” method for a “deserving cause”. I’ve quoted this many times, Man’s EGO is the fountainhead of human progress. — THE FOUNTAINHEAD by AYN RAND. I strongly believe, Ego is a faculty which deals with self-esteem, consciously steering it is a prerequisite for human progress – this was well graphed by the writer. Sundar steered it consciously using his corporate intellect and progressive thought process, on the other hand, antagonists failed to do that due to their regressive thought processes.

I could possibly imagine 2 types of solutions writers opt for any conflict created in the movies:
1) Realistic solution – (FYI, Pontifications turns me off) For the type of story and conflict it is, character graph, I don’t think it can offer something like it was offered in Yuva.
2) Unrealistic solution – Taking the cinematic liberty and considering the emotional aspects of the developed character – if a writer thinks pontifications pisses him off as well, he will take a leap and deliver an unrealistic solution just like then NRNM and now Sarkar. Anyway who’s ready to take a realistic solution and practice in their lives ?? If you say, “yes! I’m going to” then shut the fuck up and cast your vote in upcoming elections. If you say no and condemn the solution offered, then you should seriously start thinking about your hypocrisy!

Leave a comment